I have made a pledge to give up pokies forever

Gambling Addiction Can Creep Up on You

Catherine’s gambling escalated over time…she’s now pledged to give up pokies all together.

I have been playing pokies for about 5 years. My gambling has got worse in the last 12 months. There have been some personal issues I have had to deal with and I think I use gambling to try and forget them. Gambling is effecting me now in a big way. I blew $1100 yesterday and feel physically sick thinking about it. I have made a pledge to give up pokies all together. I know it will be hard, but I think in the long run I will be better off.

Catherine mentioned some personal issues around her gambling. Well there was no surprise there, gambling effects every part of our lives. The pokies can seem like the perfect escape – a chance to switch off and forget our worries! Unfortunately, the worries you end up with at the end of a gambling session can be just as bad if not worse, and they can magnify and multiply your personal issues.

The sick feeling Catherine describes is a gambling hangover, and it can be every bit as debilitating as any other physical illness or ailment. It’s great that she is aware that her gambling is getting out of hand and she has made the first step to get help. Sometimes the first step is the hardest.

Watching the Pokies Myths and Facts movie at http://www.gamblinghelp.nsw.gov.au/content/how-do-pokies-really-work.aspx can help Catherine to understand how the machines work.  Professional advice can help enormously too! It is also important that Catherine and others with a gambling problem, know that they don’t have to go it alone.

Visit; http://www.gamblinghelp.nsw.gov.au/GamblingHelp/HelpNearYou/Search.aspx to find a gambling counsellor near you.  Catherine, can get on top of this, and there are lots of free services waiting to help her and others who want to make positive changes to their lives and be free of gambling.

Leave a Reply

