Support is key!

To tell or not to tell

Asking for support can be challenging even though all the evidence says that you are much more likely to be able to overcome a gambling problem if you have at least one person who can support you.

One of the challenges is talking to your support person about a lapse – which of course we know is common with any form of behaviour change.  How many people have given up diets or cigarettes…….. multiple times!  So don’t be discouraged by a lapse.  Continue to learn and share with your support person.

The person doesn’t have to be a partner or best friend, although they can be. Other people who could support you might be:

  • A gambling counsellor accessed through Gamblers Help (1800 858 858)
  • Support from peers on the online forums https://gamblinghelp.nsw.gov.au/forum/
  • A friend who you have spoken to about things in the past and are available to help.

One of the most important things is to seek support around managing your money from someone you trust.  Many people with gambling problems find that accessing or needing money becomes an irresistible trigger to gamble which often causes a relapse.

A lot of people we speak to have said that it is the support of someone that has helped them manage their  gambling. Here are some quotes from people who have recovered from problem gambling:

Being able to be honest with my counsellor about when I was struggling was great. She was not judgemental at all, instead she encouraged me to learn from my lapses and to be a bit kinder to myself’

‘I was able to call my friend up on the weekends when I was having an urge to gamble, and he would talk me through it. Being able to put into words what I was going through and getting advice made things much more bearable.’

‘Having someone to be accountable to made a difference, as I was able to imagine what they might say if I did gamble and I could see the likely course of events’.

‘Talking to someone each week really got me thinking about my gambling – how it had become a problem, when it hadn’t been a problem…I became an expert in my behaviour and then was able to change things based on that. I would never have been able to do that on my own but telling my story to someone else helped me to figure things out’.

If you are still on the fence about getting some support, take a chance and call now.  It does not matter if you don’t know where to start or what to say we can help you!

The calls are confidential and free. By talking to a professional counsellor you will be on your way to saving a lot of money and starting to get back in control of your life.

Gambling Helpline 1800 858 858 to speak to a trained gambling counsellor.

Leave a Reply

